Daniel Bonham appointed as State Representative for House District 59


Small business owner and The Dalles resident eager to make an impact in Salem


Madras, Ore. – Daniel Bonham has been appointed by a vote of Wasco, Jefferson, Deschutes and Wheeler County Commissioners to serve as the State Representative for House District 59. Bonham, 40, is a resident of The Dalles and a small business owner. He will fill the remainder of former Representative John Huffman’s term in office after Rep. Huffman vacated to seat to accept a federal appointment.


“It is truly an incredible honor to have the opportunity to represent my friends and neighbors as their state representative in Salem,” said Bonham. “I am humbled to have earned the support of Republican precinct committee persons as well as the county commissioners. While I know I have big shoes to fill, I believe my desire and passion for helping people in conjunction with my business background will make me an effective leader in Salem. I am excited to get to work on behalf of the residents of House District 59.”


Prior to his appointment, Daniel served as a member of The Dalles city budget committee as well as urban renewal budget committee. He and his wife, Lorilyn, are active volunteers in The Dalles community. In 2014, Dan and Lori rejuvenated The Dalles Booster Club, raising over $100,000 in two years to enhance the high school athletic experience for local student athletes. They are also active in their local church and have participated in recent mission trips to Guatemala and Thailand.


“Daniel’s background as a small business owner and leader in his community will make him a great addition to the Legislature,” said House Republican Leader Mike McLane (R-Powell Butte). “House Republicans are excited to welcome him to our caucus and look forward to serving alongside him.”


Daniel and Lori have lived in The Dalles for the last decade. Together, they have two children, Jennifer and Jack.


House District 59 includes the communities of Culver, Fossil, Madras, Maupin, Metolius, Mitchell, Mosier, Sisters, The Dalles, as well as unincorporated areas of Wasco, Jefferson, Deschutes and Wheeler Counties.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.