ORP Elections Results

Left to right: Vice Chair Herman Baertschiger, Treasurer Dennis Linthicum, Chair Dallas Heard, Secretary Becky Mitts.

Delegates from the Union County Republican Central Committee joined fellow conservatives to vote for the next generation of Oregon Republican Party leaders on February 20.

Senator Dallas Heard beat incumbent Mayor Bill Currier to be elected Chair of the Oregon Republican Party.

Josephine County Commissioner Herman Baertschiger beat Umatilla County GOP Chair Suni Danforth to be elected Vice Chair.

Becky Mitts, legislative staffer to Rep. Mike Nearman, won re-election as Secretary over challenger Senator Chuck Thomsen.

Senator Dennis Linthicum was elected new Treasurer by acclamation after challenger David Darnell, CD5 GOP Chair, withdrew his candidacy and endorsed his opponent.

“New members of the Executive Committee discussed their campaigns with me early on, and I am confident that they will work well with Union County Republicans to keep common sense conservatives in office here as well as grow GOP representation in the Legislative Assembly,” said UCRCC Chair Alex McHaddad. “And as a millennial myself, I’m very excited to see the Party choose a member of my generation in Senator Heard to lead us into the future.”

For more information about the Oregon Republican Party, visit www.oregon.gop.

Posted: UCRCC Chair Alex McHaddad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.